# Sturt Sabres Hall of Fame Criteria.

### **Background:**

In 2010, the Sturt Sabres Basketball Club celebrated 50 years of competition. As part of the extensive 50th Season celebrations, the committee initiated the Hall of Fame to recognise the outstanding players, coaches, referees and contributors to the Club.

# **Eligibility:**

In order to gain induction to the Sturt Sabres Hall of Fame, a candidate must have fulfilled a number of criteria.

Players must have made an outstanding contribution to the ABL, have been retired for a minimum of four seasons, and have played 100 ABL games or more.

Coaches must have made an outstanding contribution to the ABL, have been retired for at least four seasons, and have been an ABL head coach for 10 seasons or more.

**Referees** must have made an outstanding contribution to the league and have been retired for at least four seasons.

**Contributors** must have made an outstanding contribution to the Club, and may be elected at any time.

**Note**: Players, coaches and referees must have taken part in their last game by the completion of the 2005 ABL season to be eligible for the 2010 Hall of Fame ballot.

# **Hall of Fame Selection Committee:**

A 6-person Hall of Fame Selection Committee is charged with the responsibility of considering eligible candidates for induction to the Hall of Fame.

#### The Hall of Fame Selection Committee for 2010/11 is:

Donald Rodman, Andy Kareta, Mellissa Braham, Daryl Simmons, Dani Warbout and Anne Einerson.

#### **Process:**

All eligible past players are placed on a ballot, with each member of the selection

Committee asked to nominate a list of 5 finalists. At this time, nominations are also called for the Contributors category.

The 5 most nominated players are placed on the second ballot, as well as nominated contributors, and eligible coaches and referees, and forwarded to the Selection Committee.

In order to gain induction, a player must receive 75 percent of votes from the final ballot from the Selection Committee. A maximum of four players and a minimum of two players can be inducted each year, with a maximum of two non-players each year.

If a player does not receive a vote from any member of the Selection Committee in relation to choosing the 5 finalists over four consecutive years, that player will be deleted from all future ballots.